LBCC Students Awarded $5,000 Oregon Space Grant Scholarships

Five Linn-Benton Community College students were awarded $5,000 scholarships from the Oregon NASA Space Grant Consortium, part of Oregon State University.

The students and their majors are Hazel Betz, physics; Aaron Groves, physics; Brian Riedy, engineering; Brianna Smith-Sparks, physics; and Levi Willmeth, computer science.

Catherine Lanier, associate director of OSGC at OSU, wrote in an email announcing the winners, “We had a significant increase in the number and quality of applications this year, making the award selections very competitive and difficult. There were many deserving students!”

Scholarships were awarded to 12 community college students, 15 university students, and seven undergraduate research projects throughout the state.

The Oregon Space Grant Consortium, part of the National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program, is a state-wide network of universities, colleges, museums, educators, researchers, students and science professionals promoting STEM education through cooperative and interdisciplinary programs while recruiting and training NASA's next diverse workforce.

Find out more online at


Popular posts from this blog

LBCC Holds Annual Career Fair

LBCC Oregon Construction Contractors Board Education

Community Art classes in Albany, Corvallis, and Lebanon