LBCC students named to All Oregon Academic Team

Three Linn-Benton Community College students were named to the Oregon Community College Association All Oregon Academic Team.

Benjamin Hauser of Albany, Joshua James of Albany, and Mark Bzik of Salem will be honored by Governor Kate Brown at the State Capitol April 23.

The students will receive a plaque from the OCCA and a scholarship to the university they plan to attend if completing their bachelor’s degrees.

In addition, Hauser was named as Oregon’s Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Bronze Scholar, and Bzik was named New Century Scholars Workforce Pathway Scholar.

The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team, which provides scholarships to gold, silver and bronze scholars. The Workforce Pathway program recognizes 100 scholars each year who are planning to enter the workforce after completing a certificate or associate degree

Hauser will graduate in June with an associate degree in bio-health sciences with a pre-medical option, and plans to transfer to Oregon State University to complete his bachelor’s degree. His career goal is to become a physician. 

Hauser is a volunteer intern in the Emergency Department at Good Samaritan Medical Center in Corvallis. He tutor’s anatomy and physiology, math and science at LBCC, and is an active member of LBCC chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

James will graduate in June with his associate of arts transfer degree in Criminal Justice, and plans to transfer to University of Phoenix to complete his bachelor’s degree.

James serves as vice president of LBCC’s Active Minds Club, and as an officer with the LBCC chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

Bzik will graduate in June from LBCC’s Occupational Therapy Assistant program. He was a recipient of an OTA Dean’s Grant in fall 2017, and serves as current president of the OTA Class of 2018 and as an active member of LBCC Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

The Oregon Community College Association, in partnership with Phi Theta Kappa, yearly recognizes outstanding students from Oregon’s 17 community colleges through the All-Oregon Academic Team awards.  Students selected become eligible for more than $350,000 in Coca-Cola Foundation and USA Today scholarships.


Popular posts from this blog

LBCC Holds Annual Career Fair

LBCC Oregon Construction Contractors Board Education

Community Art classes in Albany, Corvallis, and Lebanon