LBCC Honors Faculty and Staff at Inservice

Victoria Fridley
Fred Stuewe
Dean Dowless

Jack Stone
Linn-Benton Community College announced Distinguished Staff Award and Pastega Award winners at the college’s Inservice
April 16.

Business Management faculty member Jack Stone was named Distinguished Staff. Stone, of Corvallis, began work at the college in 1996, and is retiring from the college in June.

Nominated by his peers for his dedication and commitment to LBCC, students and the community, Stone was recognized for his devotion to teaching, and his inspiring mentorship, friendship and leadership to fellow faculty and staff at the college.

The Pastega Faculty Excellence Award was presented to LBCC welding faculty members Dean Dowless and Fred Stuewe.

Dowless, of Corvallis, began teaching at the college part-time in 1983, and has been a full-time instructor since 1993. Stuewe, of Philomath, began teaching part-time in 2004, and became full-time in 2009.

Dowless and Stuewe were recognized for their dedication and work ethic in developing students that are ready to enter into the industrial workforce. They were also recognized for helping to create customized career technical education classes that develop student’s soft skills, including technical writing, math and measurements, and customer service classes for welders.

The Pastega Classified Excellence Award was presented to LBCC Writing Center Coordinator Victoria Fridley. Fridley, of Corvallis, has served as coordinator since 2008.

Fridley was recognized for her efforts in providing equal access to and engaging students in the writing process, her ability to make students feel at ease, and her commitment to the LBCC community through her work bringing the arts to campus and campus committee work around access and equity.

LBCC’s Distinguished Staff Award was established in 1980 to recognize employees for their contribution of both time and energy to the college. Nominees must have completed 10 years of continuous employment with LBCC.

LBCC’s Pastega awards, established in 2000 by the Mario Pastega Foundation, honor one faculty member and one classified staff for their outstanding contributions to the LBCC community. Winners receive a $1,000 honorarium.


Popular posts from this blog

LBCC Holds Annual Career Fair

LBCC Oregon Construction Contractors Board Education

Community Art classes in Albany, Corvallis, and Lebanon